MORBUS KRABBE 

Description

The infantile form has an onset at 2-6 months of age and is divided into 3 stages. In the first stage, symptoms include irritability, stiffness, poor head control, feeding difficulties, intermittent thumb clasp, episodes of increased temperature, and developmental delay. In the second stage, hypertonic episodes occur with opisthotonus, myoclonic seizures, developmental regression, fisting and vision deficits. In the third stage, hypotonia, blindness and deafness occur. Patients progress into a vegetative state and die before the age of 2-3 years, generally due to respiratory infections. In the late infantile/juvenile (1-8 years) and adult (>8 years) forms, the presenting symptoms vary greatly and progression is variable (generally slower in older patients). Patients with late infantile /juvenile onset most resemble infantile patients, while the first signs in adult forms are often weakness, gait disturbances (spastic paraparesis or ataxia), burning paresthesias, hemiplegia, and/or vision loss, with or without peripheral neuropathy. Cognitive regression is variable and often absent in adult forms.

Etiology

The disease is due to mutations in the GALC gene (14q31) encoding the lysosomal enzyme galactocerebrosidase, that catabolizes the hydrolysis of galactose from galactocerebroside and galactosylsphingosine (psychosine). The accumulation of cytotoxic psychosine leads to apoptosis of oligodendrocytes and demyelination of the CNS and PNS. Rarely, infantile Krabbe disease is caused by a mutation in the prosaposin (PSAP) gene (10q21-q22), encoding sphingolipid activator protein saposin-A, necessary for GALC activity.

 

Diagnostic methods

Diagnosis is suspected by the clinical picture, slow nerve conduction velocity, abnormal electroencephalogram, and brain MRI revealing white matter abnormalities (demyelination, gliosis, late-stage cerebral atrophy, cerebral calcifications). It is established from enzymatic assays in leukocytes or in cultured fibroblasts that reveal, in almost all cases, the GALC deficiency. Histologically, characteristic globoid cells (often multinucleated cells derived from macrophages that contain non-hydrolyzed galactocerebroside) are present in the white matter. Mutation analysis confirms the diagnosis.

Differential diagnosis

Differential diagnosis includes metachromatic leukodystrophy, GM1 gangliosidosis, GM2 gangliosidosis, Canavan disease, encephalopathy due to prosaposin deficiency, X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy, Pelizaeus-Merzbacher disease and Alexander disease (see these terms).

Antenatal diagnosis

Antenatal diagnosis (enzymatic assay or mutation analysis) is possible for at-risk families. If the disease-causing mutations in the family are known, pre-implantation genetic diagnosis is possible.

Genetic counseling

Transmission is autosomal recessive. Genetic counseling should be offered to at-risk couples (both individuals are carriers of a disease-causing mutation) informing them of the 25% chance of having an affected child.

Management and treatment

Treatment is limited to hematopoietic stem cell transplantation in pre-symptomatic infantile patients and mildly affected late-onset patients and has been shown to slow the progression of the disease. Other treatment options (i.e. chaperone therapy, enzyme replacement therapy, gene therapy) are currently under investigation in animal models.

Prognosis

Neurodegeneration and early death (< 2-3 years) occurs in most infantile cases. In late infantile/juvenile patients, the disease is generally fatal 2-7 years after the symptoms begin. Adult-onset patients can survive many years after symptoms present.

MORBUS KRABBE 

Beschreibung

Der Krankheitsbeginn der infantilen Form liegt im Alter von 2-6 Monaten und wird in 3 Phasen eingeteilt. Symptome der ersten Phase sind Irritabilität, Steifheit, schlechte Kopfkontrolle, Probleme bei der Nahrungsaufnahme, intermittierendes Einklappen der Daumen, Episoden erhöhter Temperatur und Entwicklungsverzögerung. Mögliche Symptome der zweiten Phase sind hypertone Krisen mit Opisthotonus, myoklonischen Anfällen, Entwicklungsregression, Ballen der Faust und eingeschränkte Sehfähigkeit. Symptome der dritten Phase sind Hypotonie, Blindheit und Taubheit. Die Patienten treten in ein Wachkoma ein und sterben vor dem Alter von 2 oder 3 Jahren, in der Regel im Gefolge von Atemwegsinfektionen. Die Symptome der spät-infantilen/juvenilen (1-8 Jahre) und adulten (>8 Jahre) Formen sind sehr unterschiedlich. Die Progression verläuft unterschiedlich schnell (in der Regel langsamer bei älteren Patienten). Patienten mit Beginn im spät-infantilen/juvenilen Alter ähneln am stärksten den infantilen Patienten. Die ersten Symptome bei adulten Formen sind oft Schwäche, Gangstörungen (spastische Paraparese oder Ataxie), brennende Parästhesien, Hemiplegie und/oder Visusverlust mit oder ohne periphere Neuropathie. Die kognitive Regression ist variabel, bei den adulten Formen fehlt sie oft.

Ätiologie

Ursache der Erkrankung sind Mutationen im GALC-Gen (14q31). Es kodiert das lysosomale Enzym Galactocerebrosidase, das die Abspaltung der Galaktose von Galactocerebrosid und Galactosylsphingosin (Psychosin) katalysiert. Die Akkumulation des zytotoxischen Psychosins führt zur Apoptose der Oligodendrozyten und zur Demyelinisierung des ZNS und PNS. In seltenen Fällen wird die infantile Krabbe-Krankheit durch eine Mutation im Prosaposin-Gen (PSAP; 10q21-q22) verursacht. Dieses Gen kodiert das Sphingolipid-Aktivator-Protein Saposin-A, das für die GALC-Aktivität benötigt wird.

Diagnostische Verfahren

Zum klinischen Verdacht führen das klinische Bild, die verlangsamte Nervenleitungsgeschwindigkeit, EEG-Veränderungen und und die Befunde des zerebralen MRI mit Veränderungen der weißen Substanz (Demyelinisierung, Gliose, zerebrale Atrophie im Spätstadium, zerebrale Verkalkungen). Die Bestimmung der Enzymaktivität in Leukozyten oder kultivierten Fibroblasten ergibt in fast allen Fällen eine mangelnde Aktivität der GALC. Ein charakteristischer histologischer Befund der weißen Substanz sind Globoidzellen (oft mehrkernige, von Makrophagen hergeleitete Zellen, die nicht-hydrolysiertes Galactocerebrosid enthalten). Die Mutationsanalyse bestätigt die Diagnose.

Differentialdiagnose

Differentialdiagnosen sind: Metachromatische Leukodystrophie, GM1-Gangliosidose, GM2-Gangliosidose, Canavan-Krankheit, Enzephalopathie aufgrund eines Prosaposinmangels, die X-chromosomale Adrenoleukodystrophie, Pelizaeus-Merzbacher-Krankheit und Alexander-Krankheit (siehe jeweils dort).

Pränataldiagnostik

Bei bekannter krankheitsverursachender Mutation ist eine pränatale Diagnose (enzymatischer Assay oder Mutationsanalyse) möglich.

Genetische Beratung

Die Krabbe-Krankheit wird autosomal-rezessiv vererbt, den Familienmitgliedern soll eine genetische Beratung angeboten werden.

Management und Behandlung

Einzig verfügbare Behandlung ist die hämatopoetische Stammzelltransplantation bei präsymptomatischen infantilen Patienten und bei leicht betroffenen Patienten mit spätem Beginn. Durch sie kann das Fortschreiten der Erkrankung verlangsamt werden. Weitere Behandlungsmöglichkeiten (d.h. Chaperon-Therapie, Enzymersatztherapie, Gentherapie) werden derzeit im Tierversuch untersucht.

Prognose

Die meisten Patienten mit der infantilen Fällen versterben im Gefolge der Neurodegeneration im frühen Alter von < 2-3 Jahren. Bei spät-infantilen/juvenilen Patienten endet die Erkrankung in der Regel 2-7 Jahre nach dem Auftreten der ersten Symptome letal. Patienten mit Beginn der Symptome im Erwachsenenalter können viele Jahre überleben.